Waldkorn<sup>®</sup> Traditional Grains

Waldkorn® Traditional Grains

A special blend of delicious grains and seeds for each bread variety.

By Traditional Grains, we at Waldkorn® mean mainly the “contemporary, modern” grains that are used in our region and by extension in Europe. These are types of grain such as wheat, spelt, durum, oats, rye, barley and millet. Most of these grain types have been cultivated in Europe for centuries. So the term “contemporary, modern” is relative but indicates that these grain types are not as old as the ancient grains.

The other grain types originated elsewhere: corn in South America, rice in Asia and sorghum and teff in Africa.

Wheat (Triticum) is one of the most frequently consumed grains in the world. There are many varieties of this grain type, including hard wheat, soft wheat, summer wheat and winter wheat. Each type has its own unique nutritional value and use. For instance, some wheat types are more suitable for bread and pastries, others for pasta.

Almost all bread contains wheat. It is easy to work with and produces good results when baked. Wheat contains gluten, which are proteins that give the bread its structure and elasticity.

Wheat has a sweet taste.

Durum (Triticum durum), or hard wheat, probably developed from emmer wheat. It only grows well in a warm climate and is primarily cultivated in Southern Europe. Durum is used among other things, for pasta. It has a low gluten content, making it less suitable for bread. Durum has a very slight nutty taste.

Barley (Hordeum Vulgare) is a grain type that belongs to the grasses family. Its oval-shaped kernels are golden in colour.

Germinated barley – or malt – is mainly known as a key ingredient in beer and whisky. When used in bread, barley is tasty and easily digestible. However, it is best combined with another type of grain to ensure that the bread has sufficient structure.

Barley has a slightly bitter, roasted taste.

Millet (Panicum Miliaceum) is a group of grains with small kernels that may be golden yellow, black, white or red. Sorghum is a subgroup of millet. Millet is gluten-free and is often used in bread. However, it is also tasty in sweet dishes.

Millet tastes slightly sweet. When roasted, it develops a lovely nutty aroma.

Oats (Avena Sativa) belong to the grasses family and have been cultivated since 7,000 B.C. The kernels are light grey, long and narrow with a small groove.

Oats are cultivated for human consumption (bread, biscuits, oatmeal porridge, etc.) and as animal fodder. Oats are gluten-free, but oat products may be contaminated (or mixed) with wheat or other gluten-containing grains during production.

Oats have a fairly neutral, sweet taste.

Corn comes from Middle America. It grows in large cobs that contain big yellow kernels. Although it is a grain, it is often eaten as a vegetable. Corn is used in food in various ways: as flour (for tortillas and cornbread) but also as flakes, for example (for cornflakes) or as oil.

Corn has a sweet taste, often associated with popcorn.

There are many different types of rice (white rice, Basmati rice, brown rice, etc.) and it is grown and eaten more or less all over the world. It is gluten-free and is hardly ever used in bread (in Europe). However, it forms the basis for many popular dishes, such as risotto and paella.

Rice has a fairly neutral, slightly creamy taste.

Rye (Secale Cereale) belongs to the grasses family. The kernels are long and grey-blue to yellow in colour.

Rye is one of the most important ingredients for bread. It contains little gluten and has a sourer taste than wheat. Rye is usually mixed with other grains to improve the baking quality and offset the sourer taste. Rye bread is somewhat greyer and has a more compact structure than wheat or spelt bread.

Sorghum (also known as great millet or durra), is able to withstand arid conditions and thrives in Africa. The seed is used for both food and animal fodder. The plant displays similarities with corn (to which it is genetically related).

As regards taste, sorghum resembles ordinary wheat.

Spelt (Triticum Spelta) is very closely related to modern-day bread wheat. It has just two flowers per ear (wheat has four) and the husk is fused with the kernel. Spelt contains gluten, but in a different proportion to wheat. It is often said that spelt bread is easier to digest than wheat bread, although this has not been scientifically proven. Spelt has a more tangy, nutty taste than wheat.

Teff (Eragrostis tef or ‘Williams’ lovegrass’) is a grain with a tiny kernel (like grains of sand). The kernels are so small that they cannot even be dehulled. So teff flour is always wholemeal. This grain is gluten-free and can be processed like wheat meal.

Teff has a slightly sweet, nutty and rather earthy taste.

facebook facebook Instragram Instragram Pintrest Pintrest
This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience.

More info Continue

scroll to top